WWJD Isn’t The Question

I don’t know what to do.

Terry L. Cooper
8 min readNov 16, 2023

I’ve been living in this apartment for 14 months now. It hasn’t been a pleasant experience since the very beginning. The day I was released from the hospital after having had a stroke I came straight here, signed the lease, went to my storage unit and loaded up the Jeep, and then came here and offloaded. In July. It was hot and exhausting but I did it. It took me a total of a couple of weeks to get everything in here as I could only do so much and then I had to quit and rest.

Since then I’ve had the guy next door who I call Needy Chick Mike be a pain in my ass. Right from the start he latched on because he always needed a ride to get smokes. Never gave him a ride but it didn’t stop him from asking me every time he saw me. One Sunday morning just before 10 he knocked on my door to ask me if I could give his friend a ride to get smokes and that he would pay me for my gas. His going rate was always $5.

Call a cab and tell them you’re only going to pay them $5 and see if a car ever shows up.

And I’m supposed to let not one but two men I don’t know get in my car with me? This boy really is as stupid as he looks. But this Sunday morning was beyond. I didn’t open the door all the way, just wide enough that I could see his face and he could see mine. This whole is going to ask me if I’m dressed. What females is he used to dealing with that answer the door with no clothes on? That’s when his friend who needed the ride popped up from out of nowhere grinning. I…

--

--

Terry L. Cooper

Writer for this platform since June 2020. See my pinned post for links to locate me all over the WWW.