Yes, Another Story About Imposter Syndrome

Like a gerbil on an exercise wheel…

Terry L. Cooper
5 min readMay 23, 2024

You run and run and run and yet never outrun it.

Flickr

I go through this 99% of the time regarding my writing. I had it when Chicken Soup for the Soul bought a story of mine. But oddly enough I don’t remember having it when the Washington Post interviewed me or when WJLA in D.C. interviewed me. Or that time when the Pensacola News Journal posted my photography online. I don’t recall it being an issue when I had 61 books on Amazon either. Or maybe I did and I’ve simply forgotten.

If there’s a plus to having had a stroke and having CFS+Fibromyalgia, I forget a lot. So maybe I did have IS and just don’t remember. I would even have panic attacks in college before every midterm and final. I remember emailing my friend Julia about me thinking I was going to fail. Her response?

SHUT THE FUCK UP. YOU ALWAYS GET STRAIGHT “A” S.

That’s my Julia! Cuts through all of the bullshit and gets to the heart of the matter just like I do. So what triggered me this time?

Getting my next book ready for publication.

--

--

Terry L. Cooper

Writer for this platform since June 2020. See my pinned post for links to locate me all over the WWW.